PSO Board Members honoured

PSO board member Jessica Palmer (above) was named in September as the Institute of Directors Otago Southland branch emerging director for 2020.

Prof Palmer is also the dean of the University of Otago faculty of law, deputy chairwoman of Knox College and Salmond College, a Wilberforce Foundation trustee and Laidlaw College chairwoman.

The selection panel noted that “she has high standards and a sense of responsibility and duty that will serve her well in the future.”

Jessica was humbled to receive the award, and said “I am a firm believer in the importance of sound governance for organisations in order to ensure the mission of an organisation is achieved, that it is done so sustainably, and that staff and customers identify strongly with the organisation and develop a sense of loyalty.

“Knowing that the decisions that I make in my leadership and governance roles affect the experiences of people who interact with the organisations, whether as staff, client or stakeholder, is a powerful motivator for me. It is a privilege and a great responsibility.”

Stephanie Pettigrew

Stephanie Pettigrew (left), who is a partner at Dunedin law firm Marks & Worth and Presbyterian Support Otago deputy chairwoman, was named runner-up for this award.

We are fortunate to have Jessica and Stephanie as members of our Board and we extend our thanks and our warm congratulations to them both!

Story and photo credit: ODT